Biography

Charlotte Dupont has her origins in Paris, where she was born and spent her childhood. Her connection with images established itself when she was 11 making annual vacation films with a friend. They were looked at and commented upon by one of the great masters of cinema, Alain Resnais. Her connection with the image then took the form of acting, when she was 17, with Nicolas Klotz in La Neige en Afrique and in Les Traces de Ton Père dans la Cendre, then with other European directors, Jose-Luis Guérin’s En la Ciudad (Official selection Mostra 64), Christophe Hermans’La Balançoire (official selection Magritte 2010).

Charlotte Dupont settled in Brussels in 2002 and also worked there as scriptwriter on the national level for Michael Bier, Alice de Vestel, Cédric Eeckhout, as well as internationally for José-Luis Guérin, Brieuc Dupont, Eric Guirado, … The link between acting and scenario led her onto the path of directing.

In 2007, she shot La Peau Claire, and in 2013, she received the support of the Communauté Française de Belgique for her second short film, Inacia, produced by Hélicotronc. In 2016, the plenary session of the CNC awarded her an aid for rewriting to finance her third short film, Les Petits Obliques.

Between 2009 and 2010, Charlotte Dupont lived in New Mexico, USA. Her solitude, her imagination and the immensities of the desert drove her to act in short videos of autofiction that she regularly posted on her blog. Today they number close to 200. With them, she made a short film, Everywhere You Go.

In 2011, she was chosen for a residency at the Santa Fe Art Institute, New Mexico, USA. She continued to film herself, “as in American films,” which, once the capsules mounted together, became the short film Playing Make Believe.

It was during this residency that she developed the experimental video project of insertion into neorealist films,Starlet, study unanimously selected by the jury in 2014 for the first prize in the Concours National de la Banque Belfius Belgique. She exhibits this work regularly, and in particular it was last exhibited in Molenbeek, where she lived (and was formerly a student at the Académie des Arts) from 2012 until 2016.

In 2012, with Mathilde Elu, she created the duo Starlotte&Strassilde, carrying out commissions for events with short absurd clips in which they act: J’adhère for the 15 th Festival International des Scénaristes 2012; then the trailer for the 2013 edition; as well as Le Jour le Plus Court, in which they playfully present the sponsors of the Journée Nationale du Court-Métrage initiated by the CNC.

In 2017, Charlotte Dupont returned to her origins, moving back to Paris. She starts playful videos with her daughter in 2018.

Download the Curriculum Vitae

Biographie

Charlotte Dupont est parisienne d’origine. Sa relation avec l’image s’instaure dès ses 11 ans avec des films de vacances tournés chaque année avec une amie, puis regardés et commentés par un des maîtres du cinéma, Alain Resnais. Sa relation à l’image se dessine ensuite en tant que comédienne dès ses 17 ans avec Nicolas Klotz dans La neige en Afrique et Les traces de ton père dans la cendre puis avec d’autres réalisateurs européens, En la cuidad de Sylvia de Jose-Luis Guérin (sélection officielle Mostra 64), La Balançoire de Christophe Hermans (sélection officielle Magritte 2010).

Charlotte Dupont s’est installée à Bruxelles en 2002 et y a travaillé aussi en tant que scénariste à un niveau national pour Michael Bier, Alice de Vestel, Cédric Eeckhout, comme international pour Jose-Luis Guérin, Brieuc Dupont, Eric Guirado… Le lien entre le jeu et le scénario la porte sur la voie de la réalisation.

Elle tourne en 2007 La peau claire, reçoit en 2013 le soutien de le Communauté Française de Belgique pour son deuxième court-métrage, Inacia produit par Hélicotronc, obtient en 2016 l’aide à la réécriture en plénière du CNC pour le financement de son troisième court-métrage Les petits obliques.

Entre 2009 et 2010 Charlotte Dupont vit au Nouveau-Mexique, USA. Sa solitude, son imagination et ces immensités désertiques la poussent à jouer dans de courtes vidéos d’autofiction qu’elle poste avec régularité sur son blog et qui se nombrent aujourd’hui à près de 200. Elle en fait un court-métrage, Everywhere you go.

En 2011, elle est sélectionnée pour une résidence au Santa Fe Art Institut, NM USA. Elle continue à se filmer « Comme dans les films américains » ce qui devient, une fois les capsules montées ensemble, le court-métrage Playing make believe.

C’est lors de cette résidence qu’elle développe le projet de vidéo expérimental d’insertion dans les films néoralistes Starlet, ébauche sélectionnée en 2014 au concours National de la Banque Belfius Belgique dont elle tire le premier prix à l’unanimité du Jury, travaille qu’elle expose toujours régulièrement, notamment avec la dernière exposition qui était à Molenbeek, où elle a vécu (et y a été ancienne élève de l’Académie des Arts) de 2012 à 2016 .

En 2012 elles ont créé avec Mathilde Elu le duo Starlotte&Strassilde, et répondent à des commandes évènementielles par de courtes capsules absurdes dans lesquelles elles jouent : J’adhère pour le 15ième festival International des Scénaristes 2012, puis la bande annonce de l’édition 2013, ainsi que Le jour le plus court, où elles présentent sur un ton ludique, les parrains de la journée nationale du court-métrage instiguée par le CNC.

En 2017, Charlotte Dupont revient aux origines et se réinstalle à Paris. Elle débute des vidéos ludiques avec sa fille en 2018.

Télécharger le Curriculum Vitae